top of page

"Issipile" Libretto- Atto 3

Drama for Music by Antonio Bioni, exhibited in Breslau in 1732. Libretto: Pietro Metastasio


The Ars-Augusta e.V. in collaboration with the Stettin Theater, it will stage for the first time in modern times an opera by Antonio Bioni, and in particular an opera written for the Wroclaw Theater in 1732. And the opera "Issipile" . The manuscript is in the Archive of the Friends of Music Society in Vienna and will be edited by our Association in the coming months. The following booklet is used for the study of the work.

English translation: Enrique Gómez-Cabrero Fernández.



ACT III


SCENA I

Remote place with monuments

Toante and Learco with pirates.


Learco:

All our hope was for nothing, my friends.

Fortune is oposing this most beautifull enterprise.

Go, and make sure everyone is ready to leave. Pirates leave

But I see... Or am I mistaken?

Yes, Toante is coming. And he is alone in this remote place.

Let's try one last thing. Friends, listen.

(The pirates return and he talks to them whispering)


Toante:

I should be waiting in the Thessalian camp:

But you don't allow it, oh impatient emotions.

Learco:

(Did you understand? Go!) To the pirates, who leave.


Toante:

I rush while full of doubts. I pant, I have no peace,

every moment I fear I will listen some terrible news.

I will go through this lonely beach. Begins to leave.


Learco:

(Learco perform your art)

My lord, your most guilty vassal is suffering at your feet.


Toante:

You are alive! Oh Gods? Are you Learco or not?


Learco:

I am.


Toante:

What do you want from me?


Learco:

Death or forgiveness.


Toante:

Traitor, don't ever show yourself to me again Begins to leave


Learco:

Hear me, and then dismiss me if you wish.


Toante:

Don't you know, wicked man, what pain you caused this kingdom?


Learco:

My lord, I deserved death when I tried to kidnap Issipile.

But if my king doesn't find mercy for a youthful mistake, led by love,

and that is being tormented by remorse, at least let me die in my fatherland.

Five whole years I have been wandering in foreign lands,

mocked by my guilty fate. I live hated by the heavens and the earth.

And what is worse, I live hated by my king.

It is too heavy already the tiredness and boredom of suffering.

Of all my diseases, my gravest one is life,

and whoever will split my body and my soul will be merciful

as he grants me my death.


Toante:

(This desperate whining diminishes the guilt of his past mistakes)


Learco:

(When will my comrades finally come!) Looks across the scene


Toante:

Through your dissasters, you must learn to respect the throne's magesty.

Console yourself and live. I forgive you. Begins to leave.


Learco:

My lord, you will leave me full of doubts,

unless you give me proof of your mercy.


Toante:

After I my forgiveness, what else can I give you?


Learco:

Your royal right hand.


Toante:

Take it, and leave.


Learco:

Oh merciful Gods. Always looking if his comrades come back

Most pious king. This moment redeems all the troubles I went through.

(Still not coming)

And insecure, and trembling, I lay at your feet... in a humble act...

(As he kneels down and takes his hand, the pirates arrive and surround Toante)

Toante: Who are all these people?


Learco:

It is done. He stands up and drops his hand

Give me your sword.


Toante:

Who are you talking to?


Learco:

I am talking to you.


Toante:

You plot against me? Oh Gods! How...


Learco:

No more. You are my prisioner.


Toante:

What dark decepcion?


Learco:

Finally you fell in my arms. I will be judge of your life. Suffer it in silence.

The world changes its fortunes, and after a happy event

a tragedy always follows.

Now it is your turn to ask for mercy.


Toante:

Cruel!


Learco:

Toante, change your speech.

You had a great example of prudence.

Until now I behaved suplicant and humble.

Adapting to the times is a necessary virtue.

All this weapons are awaiting my sign. I could...


Toante:

What could you ever do to me?

You could take the continuation of a decaying life,

all its years and all its problems are just but an annoyance.


Learco:

I used to think like you. But I never really belived it.


Toante:

But there is a great difference between your heart and mine.


Learco:

That's just nonsense. Every living animal wants to save itself.

It is just art that fools only the vulgar commoners to bravery,

and that affects heroes in extreme cases.

But I read your soul, and I see you trembling.


Toante:

I would be affraid if I would be like you. I would be terrified

upon the vision of a thousand hits. And I would believe to hear

Jupiter's thunders around me, punishing the evil.


Learco:

At this point heaven's wrath doesn't scare me


Toante:

That is nonsense. You cannot be calm.

I know that loving the virtue is born naturally with us.

When that's not enough to avoid guilt, it is enough to punish it.

It is a gift from heaven, that becomes punishment for whoever abuses it.

The most cruel torment for evil people, is to keep in their hearts,

despite their wishes, the idea of right and honesty.

I read your soul, and I see you trembling.


Learco:

Comrades, bring this wise expert in the human nature to the ship as a prisioner. And you, drop that useless sword.


Toante:

You take it, traitor.

Waves his sword


Learco:

You should put this royal pride to oblivion. Toante is defeated.

I am the victor.


ARIA DI TOANTE


Look me in the eyes first

you vile soul, and then

judge which one of us

really is the victor


You are free, and unchained

and you are pale :

I am defeated, in chains

but I feel pity for you.

(Da capo)


SCENA II

Learco, afterwards Rodope


Learco:

That royal pose, that generous speach...

Deh don't think about it. The pleasure of a conquest

shall make me happy


Rodope:

Oh God, Learco

Scared


Learco:

Rodope, what's the reason for your fear?


Rodope:

Not far from here there is a crowd of foreigners

bringing Toante in chains. Alas, if there is any rest of virtue,

and courage in your heart, this is the moment to prove it.

You can redeem every past crime if you want.

You can write your name in history.


Learco:

Dear fortune! How?


Rodope:

Go, fight: Try to free Toante. Offer your life for your king's.

Find victory or death.

A great deed redeems every past mistake:

And takes away my shame about having loved you.


Learco:

Generous advise. And it deserves to be straighten out.

The arrest of Toante was my order. Go bring the news to

the superb Issipile if you want. Thell her to get used

to not disrepect so much her weakened enemies.

Very little is needed to harm other who have humble luck,

but even when oppressed, every enemy is strong.


ARIA DI LEARCO


Tell her that you fear

a desperate love in me:

Ask her if she remembers

how much she despised me.


And if for these offenses

she calls me traitor,

tell her thats he made me do it,

when she made me fall in love.

(Da capo)


SCENA III

Issipile, and Rodope


Rodope:

So much evil is found among us? Miserable daughter!

Unfortunate princess! What will become of you with my news!


Issipile:

All our problems, my friend are over. Heavens are tired of tormenting me.

My faithful husband is defeating the fierce women of Lenno.

My inocence is evident to him. My father is safe.

We won, every disagreement has been silenced.

Everything is love, faith and peace.


Rodope:

But Toante...


Issipile:

Toante is waiting for Giasone's return in the Thessalian camp.


Rodope:

If only that would be true


Issipile:

Why? Speak.


Rodope:

Toante has been captured


Issipile:

By whom?


Rodope:

By Learco


Issipile:

How do you know?


Rodope:

I saw him, defeated, surrounded by Learco's thugs.

Issipile:

But who are Learco's thugs?


Rodope:

People similar to him.


Issipile:

Gods, what other tragedy will you serve me? What is this day?


SCENA IV

Jasone with his soldiers, and the afforementioned.


Jasone:

Issipile, my treasure, what new grief is dimming your light?


Issipile:

Adored husband, your arrival is most opportune.

Only you can console me. Run... Deffend...

Have mercy of me.


Jasone:

Explain yourself. I cannot understand you.


Issipile:

Toante... My father... Learco... Ah I am so confused.


Rodope:

Learco the traitor is bringing the king in chains to the see.


Jasone:

Is he the same Learco...


Issipile:

Yes, the one that tried to kill you in your sleep. But when I stopped him

he tried to ruin our peace with suspicions.


Jasone:

Criminal soul!


Issipile:

Generous prince, this is a mission worthy of you. You can save my father.

You will lose your wife if you don't.

Toante's life and my own are tied together by a single threat.


Jasone:

Leave it to me, my love, to punish that criminal.

But dry this painful tears. It is too big of a threat for my courage

to see your gaze drowning with them.


ARIA JASONE

Hold a little bit longer, my dear

your beautiful crying

trust me in the meantime

that I will give peace to your suffering


I will fulfill your fate

paying for it with death:

I will either save your father

or die tryinng.

(Da Capo)


SCENA V

Rodope, and Issipile


Rodope:

Why are you giving yourself to your pain, oh princess?

Fate will never be unkind to you.

Trust Giasone's courage, and wait


ARIA DI ISSIPILE

You say I should wait? But how?

I was born from pain

and I never saw

even a shadow of goodness


All the time I find in my heart

duplicated grief

there is the one that I suffer

there is the one I expect:

And at the same time

I feel the pain and the fear


SCENA VI

Rodope and Eurinome.


Rodope:

I am getting lost with all this missfortunes.


Eurinome:

Rodope, where did my son go?


Rodope:

Think, you monster, think by yourself.

Hide from the victor if you value your life.


Eurinome:

I don't care about my life if I cannot find Learco.


Rodope:

A forsaken name, hated by the world. A shame for you and me.


Eurinome:

Why so much hate? You saved him...


Rodope:

And I regret it.


Eurinome:

I hope this rage is simulated. There was another time that you said

you wanted him to be captured too: But you loved him.


Rodope:

But now I hate him.


ARIA RODOPE


The sigh you are hearing

coming from my lips

is a sigh of regret

not of joy


I will say that I loved him

only for my own shame,

and only the memory of it

makes me in pain.

(Da Capo)


SCENE VII

Eurinome alone


Eurinome:

Ah I am looking for my son but I will end up losing myself.

But what joy will I have in this life without him?

I know that Learco is guilty, but I love him.

And his crimes take away my sleep, but not my love.

The more other people hate him, the more I feel all my blood

freeze in my veins for him.

Fair Gods, is being a mother a gift or a curse?


ARIA DI EURINOME


It is the biggest

of all pains

that emotion that makes me insane,

can only be understood by a mother.


The danger

of a wretched son

is so strongly imprinted in my soul

that it makes me forget about myself.


SCENA VIII

Beach with ships and a bridge.

Giasone with his followers, Issipile, Rodope, and afterwards Learco, and Toante on the ship.


Jasone:

Issipile breath: We will catch the traitor.

Comerades, follow me over this insideous ships. I ask you,

Fury and cruelti. Let the sails burn, the ships sink.

Lets make a horrible massacre,

so that nobody can tell appart the sea and the wicked's blood.


Learco:

Yes, but it will be the blood of Toante.

(Learco appears in the stern of the boat, with Toante, threatening him with a sword)


Issipile:

Stop.


Rodope:

Wretched.


Jasone:

What anger is moving you?


Issipile:

Father... Husband... Learco... Oh Gods... I am dead


Learco:

Why do you get so upset, Issipile? You are the judge of his life.

Come on board of this ship and marry Learco.

If the daughter rewards my constant love the father will not die.


Issipile:

What do I hear, oh husband!


Jasone:

You even dare to propose that deal, you criminal?

Ah, I can't even hold my righteous fury.

(Starts draw his sword, but Issipile stops him)

Issipile: Giasone, have mercy. The wretched is going to kill my father,

if you try to assault him.


Jasone:

Ah I feel all the fury in my heart


Learco:

Do you see, Toante, how fast your daughter is coming to save you?

You will pay her desdain with your blood. I have been patient enough.

Starts to hurt him


Issipile:

Here I come, don't hurt him


Toante:

Daughter, what are you doing?

Can you forget about yourself just like that?

Ah I didn't think Issipile would make me blush of shame.

I educated you for a royal hall, not for the wretched bed of a pirate.

And you want to become the mother of criminals, instead of heroes.


Issipile:

So can anybody tell me a better way of saving you?


Toante:

I can. Keep intact the honor of my bloodline.

Don't think that you have to die for your father.

Don't let that thought keep you prisioner.

Live and rule in my lace together with your loyal husband.

If I can lengthen your life by giving mine:

I lived enough and I ruled enough.


Rodope:

Oh fate!


Jasone:

How generous!


Issipile:

Learco, does such a big virtue not move you?


Learco:

It actually annoyes me.


Issipile:

So?


Learco:

So come or I will kill him


Issipile:

Alas may my tears make you have mercy.

You already avenged my refusal too much.

It's enough, Learco, it's enough.

Are you not happy already?

Do you want to see me as a misserable thing at your feet?

Here I am at your feet


She kneels down


Learco:

Come or I will kill him.


Issipile:

Yes. I will come, traitor. I will come.

But everything that is horrible in hell will come with me.

Our hated wedding with have Megera as best woman,

and Aletto as patron.

I will be the worst one of all the furies.

I will come: but only to take away your unfaithful heart from your chest,

oh you cruel monster. I will come fast...


Learco: Come or I will kill him.

Starting to hurt him

ARIA OF ISSIPILE


Here I am don't hurt him (To Learco)

(Gods, don't you have mercy?)

Remember me (To Giasone)

I feel I am dying

Crying she goes towards the ship, looking tenderly to Giasone


Jasone: Wife. Do you thus leave me? Wretched. I want to... I shudder...

I don't know what to do... Barbaric Gods

(Clamoring)


SCENE IX

Eurinome and the afforementioned.


Eurinome:

I finally find you, my son


Learco:

Save yourself, Mother

Jasone:

Ah wicked woman, you arrived in the right moment

(He grabs Eurinome)

Issipile, wait. Look at me traitor. Free Toante right now

Or I will kill your mother.

(while he threatens with killing her with his sword)


Learco:

How!


Eurinome:

What is happening?


Rodope:

What a change!


Learco:

Don't punish my mistakes on her. I am your enemy, Giasone.


Jasone:

My fury doesn't leave room for advises.

And everyone who doesn't hate you is my enemy.

And they deserve to be stroke a thousand times.

And even if she would be inocent of every other sin

I wouldn't be ashamed of killing her.

Being Learco's mother is a great crime.


Rodope:

The wicked is confused


Issipile:

Eternal Gods, give us your help now.


Jasone:

Barbarian, you cannot decide?


Learco:

I decided. Kill her. But first come Issipile, and fulfill your part of the deal.


Rodope:

Monster!


Issiple:

Animal!


Jasone:

I offer thou, Gods of hell, this horrfying sacrifice.


Learco: (I tremble)


Jasone:

I leave it to you that you will avenge the son's sins on her mother

(Begins hurting her)


Learco:

Ah don't hurt her. You won.


Rodope:

Finally he softens down.

Eurinome:

Dear Learco, I owe you my life.

Learco:

Eurinome, you don't know your son.

This admired mercy is nothing but weakness, not virtue.

I wish I could follow your example.

But I am not brave enough.

Despite my effords I shake, I tremble, and I feel

all my blood freezing in my veins.

Ah vile heart, you are not fair.

Your doubts are bringing me my ruin.

Let it start my reveng on you.

(He hurts himself)


Eurinome:

Stop, what are you doing?


Learco:

I don't expect nor I desire forgiveness.

Let my death be as my life was.

(He throws himself to the sea)


Eurinome:

I faint. Oh Gods

(Faints and she is brought offscene)


Rodope:

Oh fair Heavens


Iasone:

Run, friends, free the king.

(soldiers go and free Toante)


Issipile:

Husband, I cannot believe it yet


Rodope:

How many events happent in a single day!


Toante:

Prince, daughter

Issipile:

Father


Jasone:

My lord.


Issipile:

Finally I can kiss this fatherly hand again.


Toante:

And I can embrace you both finally.

(Hugs them)


Rodope:

All the suffered torments are worth it for the happiness of a wedding.

Toante:

But first let's go to the temple. Let's thank the Gods.

For every human enterprise is too dangerous and pointless

if it is not being started from them.


CORO

It is a craziness of a wrong soul

to have hope within the guilt.

Even if one time is lucky

it is still not at peace.


In the most serene fate

Vice is a punishment in itself:

As virtue is a gift in itself,

even when it is opressed.


END OF THE DRAMMA





Comments


2c8d096cbfe4f41c0dd33c182e5a51d8772c2611

Herzlich willkommen! Hier erscheinen Berichte über die aktuellen Projekte des Vereins.

Kultur ist unsere Berufung. Sie soll der Völker-verständigung dienen und unser Bewusstsein über die Schönheit stärken

Wir veröffentlichen gerne auch Beiträge von anderen Verfasser. Wenn Sie etwas veröffentlichen möchten, bitte nehmen Sie mit uns Kontakt an.

Abonnieren Sie unseren Blog

Vielen Dank!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page